Monday 6 September 2010

A Silent Film - Success in America and Portugal sees the re-release of debut album ‘The City That Sleeps’ on 27th September

The last year has been a rather busy for Oxford’s A Silent Film. Originally releasing their debut album ‘The City That Sleeps’ just over a year ago in the UK the band have been busy building strong foundations on other shores.

A Silent Film - City That Sleeps new

The initial UK release of ‘The City That Sleeps’ saw A Silent Film being handpicked by BBC Introducing to play Glastonbury and gain critical acclaim and support of highly regarded DJs (Steve Lamacq, John Kennedy…). The release was followed by a release and tour in Portugal where A Silent Film quickly gained support with Portuguese daytime radio and after only a matter of weeks the band had a Number 1 Download single with ‘You Will Leave a Mark’ (beating Leona Lewis, Coldplay and The Script to the top spot) with the album following suit. Their raised profile resulted in the band being booked to play major festivals including Lisbon’s Optimus Alive festival alongside Metallica.

A Silent FIlm’s popularity soon resonated to the US where they picked up a licensing deal and released ‘The City That Sleeps’. The band are currently riding high on US radio with ‘You Will Leave A Mark’ being the most requested song on KROQ following its success as a iTunes Discovery Download.

‘The City That Sleeps’ is a topically diverse magnum opus of contemporary narrative, covering everything from love, loss and the human condition to racial divides and the anguish of war in modern society. An emotionally driven, genre-defying masterpiece to invigorate the senses and reiterate the importance of individualism that many have sadly forgotten.

The special re-release of ‘The City That Sleeps’ sees the addition of two brand new tracks ('Driven by their Beating Hearts’ and ‘Firefly in my Window’ which have been proving highlights in the band recent performances abroad. The album (and additional recordings) is produced by Sam Williams (Plan B, The Noisettes).

‘The City That Sleeps’ is released on 27th September as a CD and download through Xtra Mile Recordings (Far, The Xcerts, Frank Turner…).

‘The City That Sleeps’ tracklisting:

1. Driven by their Beating Hearts
2. Sleeping Pills
3. You Will Leave a Mark
4. Thirteen Times the Strength
5. Julie June
6. One Wrong Door
7. Firefly in my Window
8. Lamplight
9. Feather White
10. Aurora

“They won’t be silent for long..." - The Fly
“Gently weaving intricately constructed tales, this DIY piano-led quartet from Oxford produce larger than life cinematic soundscapes, rolling from trance-like distortion to superbly focused piano and electric guitar hooks.” – Rock Sound

For more information contact Dan Griffiths - National and Online & Anthea - Regional - 0207 792 9400 -

Labels: , , , ,