Wednesday 21 September 2011

I Am The Avalanche - Come to the UK and Europe for a headline tour!

Xtra Mile Recording’s new signings I Am The Avalanche will be coming over to the UK and Europe this December for an exciting headline tour.

It’s been over 5 years since the Brooklyn quintet made it across the pond to unleash their frenetic and passionate live show on the Great British public. Better late than never we think! They will be bringing with them punk five piece Hostage Calm from the US for main support and up and coming band Apologies, I Have None as the opening band for the whole tour.

Full dates are:

2 Birmingham HMV Institute – Tickets:
3 Milton Keynes Crafurd Arms – Tickets:
4 Cardiff Clwb Ifor Bach – Tickets:
6 Leeds Cockpit 2 – Tickets:
9 Liverpool Masque – Tickets:
10 Glasgow Classic Grand – Tickets:
11 Manchester Moho Live – Tickets:
13 Kingston The Peel – Tickets:
14 London Barfly – Tickets:
15 Amsterdam Sugar Factory – Tickets:

Tickets go on sale on Wednesday 21st September 2011.

The tour is in support of their long awaited second album ‘AVALANCHE UNITED’ released on Xtra Mile Recordings in October. It is the album fans have been waiting on for over six years. Vinnie Caruana (vocals), Brandon Swanson (guitar), Michael Ireland (guitar), Brett “The Ratt” Romnes (drums) and Kellen Robson (bass) formed I Am the Avalanche in the fall of 2004 and quickly released their debut self-titled album in 2005. They toured the world relentlessly in support of this album, which became a cult favorite among fans and the band’s peers, and with popularity and respect from the punk rock community through Caruana’s previous band The Movielife, IATA soon established their own intensely dedicated following around the globe.
In 2006, IATA began writing and demoing new music for their follow-up album. Despite the odd rare live performance they decided to return to their DIY roots and become self-managed, self-booked and almost completely on their own so they could be laser-focused on writing the best album of their careers.

Six years after the release of their debut album, IATA have returned with just that. Set for release on 10th October 2011, produced by the band, and executive produced and engineered by their prolific drummer Brett “The Ratt” Romnes and mixed by Machine (Fall Out Boy, Every Time I Die, Four Year Strong), AVALANCHE UNITED is addictively melodic and blisteringly raw to its very core. Featuring 12 anthemic songs, the album includes ‘Brooklyn Dodgers’, the bold ‘Holy Fuck’, the epic and somber ‘Dead Friends’ and ‘The Gravedigger’s Argument’ featuring Anthony Raneri from Bayside. Throughout, Caruana’s distinctive voice drips with defiance, humor and proud vulnerability as he sings about hope, heartbreak, death, defying adversity and the bonds between family, lovers and friends.

And just seconds into first listening to AVALANCHE UNITED, it’ll be immediately clear that I Am the Avalanche are back with one of punk’s most powerful albums in years, unbroken and unbowed.

Labels: , , ,