Thursday, 21 May 2009

Mouthwash - 'True Stories' and UK Tour!

'Nipper' Fry: vocals & synthesizer / Rich Fry: lead guitar / Rob Tortelli: rhythm guitar &vocals Burch Bator: bass guitar &vocals / Chris Hugall: drums

‘Mouthwash are the single most exciting band in London right now. Great records, great live, great band!’ – Itch Fox, The King Blues

A symbol of London’s mash up of fashion and musical styles, Mouthwash announce the release on 8th June of their album ‘True Stories’ with a bonus CD featuring live and unreleased tracks, on Rebel Alliance Recordings. Their songs are defined by an honest delve into the under belly of London life, with references to rejecting day jobs, bundling on to night buses to getting guns pulled on them in Brixton. All their music is engrained with a gritty realism that tenderly touches on the romantic before heading back to the street corners, signing on and the offy.

Mouthwash picture

Crossing ska and ragga rhythms and melodies with a UK Indie/punk sound, Mouthwash have a loyal following in the punk scene since the day they started in 1995. The band had played with many of world’s prominent punk/hardcore acts when they were still in their punk-addled teens, and it was a support slot with Rancid at the Astoria that impressed singer Tim Armstrong. He immediately asked the band to join his label ‘Hellcat Records’ on which they released the debut album ‘1000 Dreams’ to much critical acclaim.

The band themselves are quick to point out that they don’t have a particular message to spread, they just want to make good music, get smashed and enjoy themselves along the way. With tour stories such as hitchhiking across America and being stuck in a van for days with a mental patient, it seems like they are definitely trying!

These hard working boys are back and better than ever with their new album. To promote this new release the band are headlining a series of UK shows after and have just a UK tour with good friends The King Blues.

You can catch their powerful live shows at the following places:

16th May Dirty South, Lewisham w/MAN LIKE ME, £6, 8pm
22nd May Jester Bar @ Cross Kings, Kings Cross, London, £5, 7pm
23rd May Mclusky’s, Kingston on@ 5pm w/ANTI-FLAG+THE KING BLUES, £8, 4pm doors
24th May The Gander, Bournemouth, 7pm, £6
25th May Harrys Bar, Stoke £5, 7pm28th May Wagon and Horses, Digbeth, Birmingham £5, 7pm
29th May The Square, Harlow, Essex w/THE KING BLUES £8, 8pm
30th May Thatched House, Stockport 2pm, £5
31st May Rainham Mark Social Club, Gillingham 8pm, £5
26th July The Retro Bar, Manchester 4pm doors, £4
8th Aug Maze, Nottingham w/VOODOO GLOW SKULLS 7pm, £9
9th Aug Secret location (just outside Bristol), Boom Town Fair festival w/SONIC BOOM SIX weekend tickets £60

The Tracklisting for ‘True Stories’ is:
1. Ask and it is given
2. A face in the crowd
3. No fear
4. N68
5. The sound
6. That Girl
7. Everyday feelin’
8. What I don’t know
9. Southbound
10. Atlantic Rd.
11. Dark was the night
12. Hazy days

Bonus Disc:
1. N68 (acoustic live)
2. Solid as a rock (live)
3. Sign of the times (unreleased)
4. I don't wanna hear it (live acoustic)
5. We evolve (live acoustic)
6. Knock on your door (demo)
7. Ask and it is given (live acoustic)
8. Fools Gold (live)
9. One in ten (demo)
10. Deeper (unreleased)

10/10 ‘Best album of the year’ – Volume Magazine'A masterpiece'- (France)'This record is a serious piece of work'- No Front teeth &
Cat no.REBL006 distributed via code7

Want to know more? Get in touch! Anthea, Griff @ Press Counsel 020 7792 9400

Labels: , ,