Friday, 28 January 2011

The Xcerts - Release 'Stairs To Noise: The Scatterbrain EP'

Release 'Stairs To Noise: The Scatterbrain EP' on 7th March through Xtra Mile Recordings and join The Rock Sound Exposure Tour

The Scatterbrain EP - Packshot
Following on from the release of the singles ‘Slackerpop’, ‘Young (Belane)’ and their extremely well received second album (4/5 Kerrang, 5/5 Big Cheese, 8/10 Rock Sound) THE XCERTS will be departing from the standard single track release to bring fans the 'Stairs To Noise: The Scatterbrain EP'.

With the lead track ‘Scatterbrain’ being anything but a straight-down-the-line mainstream chart single it made sense to give the fans something different explains frontman Murray Macleod, “We had some tracks left over from the album sessions we did in New York that we really liked but didn’t work with the flow of the record so rather than just release another single, we decided to put these songs onto an EP along with a specially recorded cover Elliot Smith’s ‘Say Yes’ to sell at a reduced price as a reward for our fans loyalty.”

The 'Stairs To Noise: The Scatterbrain EP' will be released digitally on the 7th March through Xtra Mile Recordings (Far, Frank Turner, Straight Lines...).

‘Stairs To Noise: Scatterbrain EP’ track listing:

1. ‘Scatterbrain’
2. ‘Tear Me Down’
3. ‘Say Yes’ (Elliott Smith cover)
4. ‘Let’s Run’
5. ‘Mannequin Champion’

In support of the albums release The Xcerts will be joining Dinosaur Pile-Up and Japanese Voyeurs on the The Rock Sound Exposure Tour. Catch the band at the following dates:

17 - BEDFORD Esquires
18 - BOURNEMOUTH Champions
19 - BRIGHTON Audio
20 - TUNBRIDGE Forum
22 - CAMBRIDGE Haymakers
23 - BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy 3
24 - LONDON Relentless Garage
27 - GLASGOW King Tuts
28 - NEWCASTLE O2 Academy 2
02 - LEEDS Cockpit 2
03 - MANCHESTER Roadhouse
04 - YORK Duchess

The Xcerts second album ‘Scatterbrain’ is out now on Xtra Mile Recordings! Here’s what the press had to say:
"Scottish trio become contenders on brilliant second album" - 4/5 Kerrang!
displays "...songwriting chops that are matures beyond their relatively young years. All that early promise they showed? Welcome to Deliveryville, population them. - 8/10 Rock Sound
The Xcerts have outdone themselves. This is a record that bands strive their whole careers to write and they’ve gone and done it on the second attempt. Marvellous. - 5/5 Punktastic
"...comeback of the year?" - 5/5 Big Cheese

Labels: , , , ,