Tuesday, 24 September 2013

Jamie Lenman

Album: Muscle Memory
Releases date:  4th November 2013
Single: “Fizzy Blood” and “Pretty Please” split 7” with Mongol Horde
Release date: 28th October 2013
UK Tour – December 2013

Jamie Lenman – raconteur, wit and one of the best British songwriters of the last ten years – is set to release a double album through Xtra Mile Recordings (Frank Turner, Against Me!, Million Dead).

Best known through his work with Reuben (who split in 2008), ‘Muscle Memory’ is Jamie’s first new material. To showcase the day and night/yin and yang/black and white the double album is split into two discs: disc one brings together the heavier side of life. Brutal riffs and intense vocals on songs such as “Shower Of Scorn”, “The Fuck Of It All” and “Fizzy Blood”. Disc 2 shows Jamie’s strength for melody and song writing – from the beautiful “It’s Hard To Be A Gentleman” to the big band jazz of “Pretty Please” to the intensely moving “Saturday Night”.

In between writing music, Jamie works as an illustrator for various clients including Bloomsbury, The Guardian and Doctor Who Magazine. The double album artwork was painstakingly put together by Jamie himself.

The 23 track double album is split into two equal sides of 11 tracks each…
disc 1
- The Six Fingered Hand
- Fizzy Blood
- No News Is Good News
- One Of My Eyes Is A Clock
- Shower Of Scorn
- A Terrible Feeling
- The Fuck Of It All
- All The Things You Hate About Me, I Hate Them Too
- Gary, Indiana
- A Plague On Both Your Houses
- Muscle
  disc 2 
- Shotgun House
- I Ain't Your Boy
- It's Hard To Be A Gentleman
- For God's Sake
- Little Lives
- If You Have To Ask You'll Never Know
- Pretty Please
- A Quiet Understanding
- Saturday Night
- A Day In The Life
- Memory

The album will be preceded by a single. In line with the album the single will be both “Fizzy Blood” (heavy) and “Pretty Please” (non heavy). The two track single will be part of a split 7” release with the other side featuring a track by Mongol Horde (Frank Turners side project). The release will be the 4th and final split 7” release as part of the Xtra Mile Recordings XMR10 series.

Watch the video here:

Jamie Lenman will be playing an exclusive pre-release show at The Islington, London on Wednesday 16th October 2013. And then touring the UK later in 2013:

Wed 04 Dec 2013   Brighton Green Door Store
Thu 05 Dec 2013     Birmingham Temple
Fri 06 Dec 2013       Glasgow Tuts
Sat 07 Dec 2013      Manchester Night and Day
Sun 08 Dec 2013     Bristol Thekla
Mon 09 Dec 2013   London Garage

Tickets are priced £10 - subject to booking fee - via www.ticketmaster.co.uk. Support comes from Kill Chaos
Tickets go onsale at 9am GMT on Friday 27th September 2013