Thursday, 18 February 2010

Trail - Release new single 'City' on 1st March


On 22nd February 2010 London five-piece Trail will release their stunning debut album ‘To the Rest of the World’ through indie label Twistid, which will be closely followed by the new single ‘City’ on 1st March 2010 – a driving Editors-esque song with a haunting grooved bass line and melancholic rock riff.

As their name suggests Trail are beating their own path to musical notoriety and acclaim. Formed in 2007 by singer songwriter Charlie Afif and guitarist Alex Mattey the pair brought together their varied influences from Dylan and the Water Boys to 90’s grunge and started to craft a sound of their own. Recruiting mates Simon Glynn on bass, Eireann Kelly on guitar (and later joined by Minco De Bruin on Drums), they started to play some local shows and with a surprising amount of early support quickly became regulars on the London circuit that year playing the O2 Wireless festival in Hyde Park as a result of making the final 11 in the O2 Undiscovered contest (from over 3000 entrants).

press shot 3

With a rapidly growing fanbase Trail started to raise money on inspirational financial platform In just 9 months they had successfully amassed enough investors to raise £20k to help record their debut album. It was around this time they began attracting attention from across the Atlantic and soon multi-platinum producer Matt Wallace (Faith No More/Maroon 5) took an interest in the band and their songs. Recognising their songwriting abilities and potential he invited them over to LA to record their album and together they created, ‘To the Rest of the World’.

’To the Rest of the World’ is a mature debut - a sonic journey that takes the listener through all the tumultuous highs, lows and confused in-betweens that follow on from early youth. Opening with the instantly hooky Muse-like ‘Prism’ it's full of high energy, catchy rock anthems (Flare, Forever Young and Fumes) sure to incite approving nods from Foos and Biffy Clyro fans as well as dark, menacing tracks (‘All Down’, ‘I Want To Know’) before the album title track brings the record to a hypnotic climax.

Confirmed live dates:

21 Feb Tommy Flynns Camden, London
22 Feb The Luminaire - ALBUM LAUNCH NIGHT! Kilburn, London
26 Feb The Met Lounge (14+) Peterborough, Midlands
3 March The Zanzibar (16+) Liverpool
4 March The Blue Cat Cafe, Stockport
5 March Milo Leeds
10 March Tommy Flynns Camden, London
25 March Bar Music Hall - Shoreditch, London
26 March The Prince Albert Brighton
31 March The Central Nottingham
22 April Cross Kings London, London
29 April The Camden Rock Camden, London

Labels: , ,