Wednesday, 21 April 2010

FAR - 'At Night We Live' released on Xtra Mile Recordings

“Tune of the week” - Daniel P. Carter - BBC Radio 1 – April 2010


- Jonah Matranga (vocals/guitar) - Shaun Lopez (guitar) - John Gutenberger (bass) - Chris Robyn (drums) -

New album ‘At Night We Live’ released on 24th May through Xtra Mile Recordings


Post-hardcore legends FAR are set to return with their first original material since 1998’s ‘Water and Solutions’. The band originally disbanded shortly after the album’s release but the record’s melodic appeal and classic song writing lived on to inspire an entire scene a the turn of the century and the band are increasingly cited as an influence by bands such as Biffy Clyro, Jimmy Eat World, Hundred Reasons, Funeral For A Friend and Thursday to name but a few. Far’s brand new album ‘At Night We Live’ is released on 24th May through Xtra Mile Recordings proceeded by the download single ‘Deafening’ a week earlier.


The release of ‘At Night We Live’ follows the band’s low key limited 7’’ single release ‘Pony’ originally by American hip-hop artist Ginuwine. The cover originally demoed as a bit of fun between friends encouraged huge unexpected radio play and over 4 million plays on MySpace.

Far’s fifth studio album was recorded at The Airport Studio and produced by guitarist and founder Shaun Lopez whom during the band’s hiatus has recorded albums for Will Haven, Giant Drag and friends the Deftones (the title track of ‘At Night We Live’ being written for bassist Chi Cheng).

Track listing of ‘At Night We Live’:

1. Deafening
2. If You Cared Enough
3. When I Could See
4. Give Me A Reason
5. Dear Enemy
6. Fight Song #16,233,241
7. At Night We Live
8. Burns
9. Better Surrender
10. Are You Sure?
11. The Ghost That Kept On Haunting

“Excited is not the word.” – Rock Sound
“In their absence their legend mushroomed…” – Kerrang!
“One might say that Far were ahead of their time…” – Drowned In Sound

For more information please contact – 020 7792 9400

Labels: , , , ,