Wednesday, 7 April 2010

Fighting Fiction - Brand new single – ‘We Will Not Forget’


Brand new single – ‘We Will Not Forget’
Out 3rd May 2010 on Xtra Mile Recordings

Jacob Glew – Vocals/Acoustic Guitar
Matt Roffe – Guitars/Bass/Backing Vocals
Andy Cooke - Guitars/Bass/Backing Vocals
Adam Wells – Drums/Percussion

Emerging indie-punk four-piece Fighting Fiction release their brand new single ‘We Will Not Forget’ on 3rd May 2010 through Xtra Mile Recordings. A politically aware call to arms, it’s no coincidence that this single release will coincide with the forthcoming general election.

Fighting Fiction - Couch landscape

Not intended as a two-fingered salute to the establishment in the traditional sense of some punk music, rather as a way to incite some pride and anger into a generation coming of voting age. The stress is on the power of the vote in this song, it’s not a call to Anarchy; rather a call of responsibility. To put your politics into action, whatever they might be.

Fighting Fiction formed late 2007 in Bristol when the four lads met at University. Bourne of a mutual passion for energetic live performance, their sound is a powerful collision of Indie-rock guitar riffs, reggae tinged punk and socially aware lyrics. These are songs written with anger and sung with passion. They evoke an honest and fundamentally English sound that is reminiscent of the brooding reggae guitar hooks of 'London Calling' era Clash, the lyrical wordplay and vocal delivery of Billy Bragg, and more recently, the acoustic guitar based sing-along sensibilities of Frank Turner and the King Blues.

Produced by Mark Williams (Biffy Clyro, Bloc Party, Million Dead, Oceansize), ‘We Will Not Forget’ is the bands most aggressive offering to date and will include a free acoustic download ‘Turning Rebellion Into Money.’

To date, the band have released their debut EP ‘A Lesser Of Two Evils’ (November 2009); completed two UK-wide tours, securing slots at both the Isle of Wight and Isle of Man TT festivals, and have played support to the likes of This Town Needs Guns, Crazy Arm, Sam Isaac, Floors and Walls, Laura Marling and The Automatic.

Fighting Fiction hit the road again this April/May on a 20 date UK tour in support of their new single release.

6 The Railway Winchester
7 Talking Heads Southampton
8 The Fawcett Inn Portsmouth
10 Fighting Cocks London
13 Mentholmans (@West Street Live) Sheffield
14 Harrys Bar Stoke on Trent
17 The Royal Oak Ipswich
18 Juiced - Liquid/Envy Crawley, London
22 Square Harlow
23 Lincoln Arms Dorking
26 Croft Bristol, Southwest
29 Prince Albert Brighton
30 Junction Cambridge
5 Moles Club Bath *Single release party*
7 Frog and Fiddle Cheltenham,
4 Keynsham Music Festival - Time out stage
25 Frog Fest @ Frog and Fiddle Cheltenham

"Stormin' Norman! Tight punchy playing and production with warped off-kilter lyrics in the great English tradition of songs like Arnold Layne and Tracy Jacks. A storming track." - Tom Robinson (BBC 6 Music)

“Raucous and energetic, this is the stuff to lift the roofs off venues in a wash of raised beers and raised voices.” - Rocklouder 4/5

For more information please contact / 0207 792 9400

Labels: , , ,