Wednesday 19 August 2015

New album ‘Postcards From Ursa Minor’ out 30th October 2015 
Supporting Frank Turner on sold out UK tour in November 2015
“Powerful, political and pertinent” by the Independent

One of Time Out’s rising stars of 2015, Will Varley has unveiled details of his forthcoming album. ‘Postcards From Ursa Minor’ will be released on 30th October 2015 on CD, vinyl and download through Xtra Mile Recordings. 

Stream the lead track ‘Is Anyone Out There?’

Produced by Tristan Ivemy and mastered at Abbey Road by Frank Arkwright (Arcade Fire, Blur) ‘Postcards From Ursa Minor’ is a master-class in song-writing that pushes the boundaries of the ‘one man and a guitar’ format. From rowdy drinking songs with sprawling chaotic arrangements to his sparse solo performances he covers a range of subjects with his trademark sprinkling of social commentary, politics and wry humour.

Observing the world and the plight of humanity as if perched cross-legged on the edge of the moon, Varley’s existential themes cover the planet’s lonely existence within the universe as well focusing in to tackle the everyday minutia of human life. 
‘Is Anyone Out There’ is a tongue in cheek call to any alien life forms that may be out there, to come and help us stop destroying the Earth. The track has actually been transmitted out into space using a 20 foot parabolic satellite dish in the US. We await a response!

'The Man Who Fell To Earth' tells the story of Jose Matata, an African immigrant whose body was found in a quiet suburban street one morning after falling out of the fuselage of a British Airways plane above London in 2009, attempting to illegally gain entry to the UK. It’s a powerful and timely piece of social commentary. 

Songs like 'Outside Over There' and 'Talking Cat Blues' show off Varley's storytelling prowesss while 'Seize The Night' and 'From Halcyon' take a more nostalgic approach, lamenting lost friends and times past. 

‘Postcards From Ursa Minor’ tracklisting is:
1. As For My Soul
2. The Man Who Fell To Earth
3. Seize The Night
4. Outside Over There
5. This House
6. Talking Cat Blues
7. From Halcyon
8. Dark Days Away
9. Send My Love To The System
10. The Endlessness And The Space Between
11. Concept Of Freedom
12. Is Anyone Out There?
13. The Question Of Passing Time

Varley will be supporting label-mate Frank Turner throughout November on his huge sold out UK tour, playing to over 35,000 people. Full dates and details below. 

Supporting Frank Turner
05 Llandudno Venue Cymru 
06 Southampton Guildhall SOLD OUT
07 Southampton Guildhall 
09 Falmouth Princess Pavilion SOLD OUT
10 Falmouth Princess Pavilion
13 Glasgow Barrowland 
14 Newcastle University 
15 Nottingham Rock City 
16 Nottingham Rock City 
18 Birmingham Academy 
19 Sheffield Academy 
21 Bristol Colston Hall 
22 Bristol Colston Hall 
23 Manchester Academy 
24 Manchester Academy 
26 London Alexandra Palace

Will signed to Xtra Mile Recordings backstage at the Royal Albert Hall just moments before he performed on stage supporting Frank Turner as part of the Teenage Cancer Trust charity gig. The 27-year-old rambling singer-songwriter from Kent is a self-made man who, on one recent tour, walked 500 miles with a guitar on his back, playing shows along the way. He makes his own music videos. He co-runs his own record label and music festival, Smugglers. As if mirroring his work ethic, his songs pack narrative detail. Each three or four minutes is earthy and punchy, rolling and rollicking upon barely-concealed anger, or blatant piss-taking. 

Pre-order here: 
iTunes: / Twitter @willvarleymusic / /

Friday 14 August 2015

UK November tour announced

In support of his excellent second solo album Party Adjacent, Dan Andriano (from Alkaline Trio) will embark on a spree of UK dates in November. You can purchase Party Adjacent now on CD, download and vinyl from Xtra Mile Recordings' shop, and from the usual outlets.

Coming back to our shores for a proper tour for the first time since the summer of 2012, Dan Andriano will be coming with full-band in tow, performing songs from Party Adjacent and previous album Hurricane Season. As usual, he'll provide a master-class in songwriting prowess and live energy, drawn from years of experience. Dates are below.

05 Stoke @ The Sugarmill
06 Leeds @ The Key Club
07 Tunbridge Wells @ Forum
08 Southampton @ Joiners
09 Bristol @ The Exchange
10 London @ Dingwalls
11 Norwich @ Waterfront Studio
12 Birmingham @ Temple
13 Edinburgh @ Electric Circus
14 Glasgow @ Stereo
15 Newcastle @ Cluny 2
16 Manchester @ The Deaf Institute

Tickets on sale now:
“The Emergency Room started as something for me to do with songs I had been writing that didn’t seem to have a place on Alkaline Trio records,” explains Andriano.  Started when he found himself living in Florida, he released his debut full-length Hurricane Season in 2011 and toured troubadour-style around the release with just an acoustic guitar on the US and European legs of the Revival Tour.

Released by XMR for the world (ex NA) and Asian Man Records in the US - Party Adjacent marks the beginning of a new chapter to the Emergency Room story.  Produced by Jeff Rosenstock, formerly of Bomb the Music Industry, Andriano is joined by a backing band of Jeff, Kevin Higuchi of The Jeff Rosenstock Band and Mike Huguenor of Hard Girls to fantastic effect.  With influences ranging from Thin Lizzy to Elvis Costello to Billy Bragg, Party Adjacent is obviously one of those rare records that is built by an artist's singular vision and augmented by exactly the right collaborative team. / / /